Parc Expo, a unique story in the landscape of Nancy
The first fair took place in 1927, held by a group of Nancy shop owners and hoteliers who wanted to promote Nancy's economic activity. The first expo took place at Place Carnot and Cours Léopold. This test was a huge success, quickly leading to the decision to hold the exposition again the following year. In 1938, the East Expo and Fair was interrupted by the war.
It was held again on 26 June 1948, still at Place Carnot, and for many years served as a showcase for technological discoveries, including the "television pavilion" in 1956. Other shows were introduced in 1960, held in the Poirel Gallery or the Pépinière, for lack of another location. The success of the Nancy Fair at the time attracted 20 foreign entries, among its traditional booths.
Paying the price of its success, the Cours Léopold fair outgrew itself, both in terms of exhibitors and visitor parking spaces. This led to the rush to leave the city centre and head toward the outskirts, Malgrange, where construction of the Parc des Expositions began on 16 August 1963.
1964: the year of change.
The Nancy International Trade Show and Fair Association inaugurated the ongoing construction of four buildings on 15 hectares, in the presence of Valéry Giscard d'Estaing and the Parc des Exposition. Four additional halls would be built over the subsequent years.
In 1997, Hall A was fully renovated to provide a bright and functional space for organized events.